Applique Rose

Applique Rose by Samantha Halliwell
Applique Rose, a photo by Samantha Halliwell on Flickr.

Gosh golly wow, I can’t believe this was made nearly a year ago. It was my first attempt at applique and making a stained glass window effect and I was so pleased at how it turned out. I still have to arrange a hanger for it and get it up on display but looking at this again makes me think that it is about time I made another one!

First things first I need to clean up my workspace cos it looks like a complete bomb site and then later on this week I hope to get down to some serious sewing. I have a duvet cover to make for a friend and another VERY patient friend has waited a very long time for her seat covers so I must get on with them.
Hope you are all ok
TTFN x

2 thoughts on “Applique Rose

  1. That’s really cool! Must’ve taken up some thread though! It looks fabulous – have you cut out the backing on the appliqued parts so the light can get through? – would be great to do with some very fine silk as a blind or window art. Or you could design cushions that match people’s existing stained glass for co-ordinated interiors!
    Keep up the good work – I love getting your posts!
    Lisa xxx
    BTW: you should see my beading area – can’t really call it a ‘workspace’ as it’s in a corner of our lounge but it’s taking over!

    • OMG Lisa, craft of any kind is insidious it gets into every nook and cranny of your house and just really takes over. MY tut is everywhere, my poor hubby despairs sometimes LOL.
      Thank you for your lovely comments on my applique. It is completely solid so not suitable for hanging in a window although that is a good idea for future projects. Would have to be careful of fabric fading though but worth some investigation.
      Sam x

Leave a Reply

