Silver Metal Clay day

 


Syringe ring

Originally uploaded by Samantha Halliwell

I have had the most fab day. I travelled to Hastings (courtesy of my gorgeous husband) to meet with Joy Funnell and have a lesson on silver metal clay. Now I am quite familiar with silver metal clay as a medium but I am totally self taught and really really really want to complete my Level 1 (and at some point I hope Level 2) certification in Art Clay. After chatting with Joy we decided a day teaching would be fab to ensure that I have the necessary skills to make the 7 projects needed to obtain the certification so off I went.
I wanted to learn how to make rings properly, set stones and use syringe clay and I think I can confidently say that I managed all of these. Joy was a fantastic teacher, very easy to get on with and set me totally at ease straight away and I learned loads as well as got reassurance that what I have taught myself is ok as well.

The ring to the left was made using a basic flat band then with syringe detail around it and a stone to finish it off. The picture does not do it any justice at all cos the patiantion that I added has the most gorgeous colours in it , blue, purple and red in places! I am very chuffed with this ring and it has taken pride of place on my right hand.
Follow this link to Joy’s web pages and see her gorgeous work, especially her harlequins! Click here to see the most fantastic harlequin. I totally covet this piece!!

TTFN x

Leave a Reply

